Back to All Events

Head On Photo Awards

Head On Photo Awards
Deadline: February 3

Head On Photo Festival
Sydney, Australia

Genevieve Fussell, Senior Photo Editor, The New Yorker
Cai (Tsai) Meng, PHD, Curator, CAFA Art Museum  
Lucy Pike, Photography Director, WeTransfer
Enrico Stefanelli, Festival Director, PhotoLux 
Shane Hulbert, Associate Dean, Photography RMIT
Lydia Dorner, Assistant Curator, Musée de l’Elysée
Arianna Rinaldo, Artistic Director, Cortona On The Move
Mags King, Managing Photo Editor, Fairfax Media
Grzegorz Kosmala, Founder, BLOW UP PRESS  
Michael Cook, Photographer  
Michele Aboud, Photographer  
David Alan Harvey, Photographer, Magnum Photos
Moshe Rosenzveig OAM, Creative Director, Head On Photo Festival

Head On Photo Festival has been helping photographers to create, exhibit and inspire since 2004. The Head On Photo Awards represent a global selection of the best work from emerging and established photographers across four categories; Portrait, Landscape, Mobile, Student  

The Head On Portrait, Landscape and Mobile prizes are open INTERNATIONALLY to professional, emerging and enthusiast photographers from classical to contemporary styles and the Head On Student Prize is open to Australia’s young photographers (school years K-12). Our anonymous judging ensures each work is selected solely on its merit rather than the celebrity of the photographer.

All Finalists Recieve:

- A fully produced exhibition - all costs covered
- Promotion of winners and finalists
- Inclusion in the Head On Photo Awards catalogue 
- Inclusion in an online gallery (post-festival)
- The exhibitions tour to major international festivals. Past festivals include Photoville (New York), Indian Photo Festival, Auckland Festival of Photography (NZ), and Pingyao International Photography Festival (China)
- Head On seeks further opportunities for retrospective exhibitions


- Three winners per category will win prizes from a total pool worth over $60,000 including $22,500 in cash
- The Landscape Prize has additional three prizes to promote New South Wales landscape; The awards are the NSW Landscape Prize, President's Prize, Speaker's Prize

Fees: Non-members - $30 AUD, Members - $25 AUD